Have You Prayed for Ozzie Today?

IMG_3557.JPGWaiting for Black Sabbath to take the stage for the last time in Michigan

I’ve often wondered if anyone is praying for me.  Have you thought about that for yourself?  On the whole planet, has anyone thought about you enough to take a few minutes to ask God to help you today?

It’s a little humbling to say the least.  Does anyone care enough about you to make some intercession for you?  After my parents died, I was an orphan (admittedly a grown man at the time, but nevertheless a child without parents).

IMG_3556.JPGMy guitar-playing son at the same concert, his Christmas present

When your parents are dead (thankfully, both of mine accepted Jesus Christ as their savior, so we’ll meet again), it’s a funny feeling.  The two people on the planet, who will die for you, give you money, help you out in any way that they can, are no longer there.  That safety net is gone, and you need prayer more than ever.

Not having a prayer warrior in your corner is kinda’ like that.  Is anyone out there thinking about me and asking God to help me?  Maybe not every day, but once in a while?  I regularly pray for my kids and my wife, my extended family, some close friends, and neighbors, but who is standing in the gap for me?  For you?

And that brings me to John Michael Osbourne.  My son and I went to see Black Sabbath last year, and while we waited for them to take the stage I wondered if anyone is praying for them.  So I did.  During that concert, and when I think of them now, I prayed for their salvation.  It was kinda’ fun to know you can ask God to affect people, despite distance or availability, and they can’t stop you.

As believers, we have access to His throne at any time to ask for anything (Hebrews 4:14-16).  Why not saving Black Sabbath?  Tony Iommi, Bill Ward, and Geezer Butler need Jesus too.

IMG_3555.JPGTheir Farewell Tour this summer

I don’t share this to impress or brag or flaunt any self-righteousness, but only as a challenge to you to think about yourself (and to pray for them too, if you like).  Are you praying for the lost?  Is anyone praying for you?

Their final tour means they are approaching the end, and as far as I can tell (from a distance), no one in Black Sabbath is saved, and I wonder if anyone prays for them.  They will be dead soon and despite their God and Satan gimmick as a band, they need prayer…like all of us.

Screenshot 2017-03-20 14.59.10.pngThe band in 1970

So I’m going to pray for them, and a lot of other people I don’t have a relationship with because of distance or their status, as well as those in my inner circle, and I’d challenge you to do the same.  And if you don’t know if anyone prays for you, maybe start asking people to put you on their prayer list.  It’s humbling to do, but why not?

It’d be a shame to have access to the most powerful Person in the history of the world, and He wants to help you, and you don’t rush into his throne room, hop up on His lap like His only child, and ask for help.

Kind of like JFK and his kids in the Oval Office.

Screenshot 2017-03-19 15.16.28.pngJFK and his son

Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession.  For we do not have a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but One who has been tempted in all things as we are, yet without sin.  Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need. 

Oh, and would you pray for me?  Specifically, that my unsaved family members would understand the gospel.  Thanks, in advance.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

